Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:40 a.m. - 2004-10-31
Bathroom Art
The owner of the new gallery agreed to show some of my stuff, no charge, and her commission is only ten percent, which in the art world is like she took an oath of poverty. So far no buyers, but one guy expressed an interest in having me do something on commission. He seemed kind of self-important, but I was hoping that was just a symptom of being rich.
I went to his house, which is brand new, and his wife or whatever showed me to his office. He does a lot of work out of his home. So then we have this interview that's not an interview, him taking phone calls and dictating memos to himself during our conversation. I was trying to pin him down on what kind of work he wanted, but he kept multitasking.
Then he says, "Let's go to the bathroom."
I said, "You mean TOGETHER?" But he was talking on his cell phone already and moving out fast, so I decided to follow but just stand outside the bathroom door and not do anything weird.
It turns out that he wanted a painting to hang in his bathroom, which is already decorated with a nautical kind of theme. So I went home, came up with some sketches, and he picked a couple of ideas he liked, and we settled on a price.
This is one of those artistic compromise jobs. The colors in my painting actually have to be chosen to complement his bathroom color scheme, and the painting has to be sized to fit the designated space on his bathroom wall. I think I'll go with an old-time sailing vessel; wooden ships and iron men; avast, me hearties.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!