Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:31 a.m. - 2004-11-14
Gallery Experiences
Had a talk with the woman (Dominique) who owns and runs the new art gallery in town. I stopped in just to look around, but she approached me, and it didn't take her long to figure out that I was an artist myself. So before long we were talking business. She will show my stuff for a non-exclusive commission. In other words, art of mine that gets sold out of her gallery will get her a commission, but art that I sell elsewhere or on my own isn't part of my contract. You'd be surprised how many galleries want a piece of everything you sell. I talked her out of charging me a display fee, which I think is a serious ripoff. Tomorrow I'll bring in some of my pieces.

When Neil did "Ninja Homeless," I talked to him about letting me bring in some of my sketches and paintings. He said I'd have to deal with the gallery manager, Brian, whom I kind of played up to and also pointed out that one of the students had turned out to be a no-show. They had the wall space, so we sort of bent the rules. I set up my "Postcards from the Id" series, with a book explaining the research I'd done for it and a signin guest book for people to leave their comments. I got some comments calling my work "interesting," and "bold," and "unconventional," which is what I usually get. Then some doofus wrote "Your paintings suck totally," and stole my pen also.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!