Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:45 a.m. - 2010-12-18
Winona Ryder
Just read an interview with Winona Ryder, publicizing her role in "Black Swan," which I definitely need to see.

Of course part of the story goes back to the shoplifting/drug abuse episode of several years ago. I once watched a TV biography of WR. Prior to every single commercial break the show ran a teaser, promising to show us security camera footage of the shoplifting episode. It seemed so unfair that I got angry and made it a point to rent, buy or watch on TV every WR movie I could find. And what I discovered was that she was a wonderful actress, whose characters always displayed intelligence and vulnerability.

One of my very favorites was "Girl, Interrupted." Nowadays it's remembered for Angelina Jolie's breakthrough role as Lisa. But watching it recently I was more impressed with the subtlety of Ryder's performance, making us see what was going on in Susanna's mind without Jolie's histrionics. Two brilliant performances in the same movie, but the understated role of Ryder was also under appreciated.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!