Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:25 a.m. - 2013-12-27
ICE STORM GEMINI PART ONE
I finished my afternoon shift and headed out to the parking lot. All day long people had been talking--and speculating, which is worse--about the freezing rain in the forecast, so I was concerned, having a drive home of almost 30 miles. Leaving the building the first thing I noticed was the slippery footing. I shortened my stride, thinking about a coworker who a few years before had slipped on the ice and lay unnoticed in the freezing parking lot for over an hour, her cell phone just out of reach on the ice beside her. Her supervisor asked her if she had been wearing "proper shoes." I didn't want to repeat her experience. There is a ramp leading down to the employee lot, and the footing was even worse there, even with proper shoes. I shifted to baby steps.

Drove home well below the speed limit.The freezing rain was in downpour mode, making the road slippery and limiting the visibility. No one passed me, and eventually I came upon someone who was driving even more slowly than I. The passing lane looked unused, so I reduced my speed until he took an exit.

Got home, watched TV for a while. Found a movie about settlers in early America and wondered what it must have been like to live without electricity or any of the modern conveniences we take for granted. Then I went to bed.

When I awoke the next morning and looked outside, it was obvious that the temperature had dropped and last night's rain had turned to ice. Every tree, every bush, every...power line... was covered in a glistening frozen coat. I called my Aunt Laureen, who lives in the same city, to make sure she was okay, and she was. So I had some coffee, did my morning workout, breakfasted, and showered. I was putting on my work clothes when the lights flickered, came back on, flickered again (Why do they have to tease you?), and went off for good.

"Codjamspit!" I shouted.

Called the power company and got a message about how my call was very important to them, blah blah blah. Tried several times with the same result. Called my aunt again, and her power was on. She suggested that I stay at her place until I had light and heat again.

Called my building super and got a busy signal. Well, he or someone in the building or the neighborhood would alert the power company, and I still had to get to work. At least I was fed, caffeinated, and had gotten through my morning hygiene. I packed my overnight bag and left for work.

Things weren't so bad.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!