Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:39 p.m. - 2014-03-03
About the Oscars
I didn't watch the Academy Awards this year. Tried to, but couldn't do it.

I love Ellen Degeneres, but I have a couple of problems with the show itself. For one thing, it's too L-O-N-G! Something like three hours blocked out last night. And then there was over an hour of "Red Carpet" lead-ins. I think the network was trying to make it into another Super Bowl. I started watching one of the Red Carpet programs, but the questions were all along the lines of "How does it FEEL?" Is that the best they could do? They only had a few months to prepare. Sidney Poitier couldn't hear the questions over the noise of the crowd, but the questions weren't worth hearing anyway. And the chatter between celebrity interviews was borderline mindless.

The speeches are too long and too many. It's always been that way and it probably will never change. There are too many big egos involved, and too many people that the winners had darn well better recognize.

I go to about one new movie a week, but I didn't even come close to seeing all the nominees. How can I react to Kate Blanchett winning best actress when I never saw her performance? Or many of her competitors? Somehow I managed to miss "Twelve Years a Slave," "Dallas Buyers Club," and "American Hustle." So hard to take sides on who should have won what.

Knowing who won is ok for morning gossip around the coffee pot at work. But I could watch a couple of rented movies during the time it would take to view the Oscars.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!