Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:49 p.m. - 2015-03-21
RECOGNITION
So we have a new outside management group, and apparently one of their Seven Pillars of Wisdom is that you need to recognize workers on a regular basis.

When I had been here only a few weeks, I was "recognized" by a coworker for doing something that I thought was just part of the job. I went to a special luncheon with a bunch of other lucky winners, hosted by the CEO. We all got our little awards, including pins to wear at work proclaiming our excellence. Everybody took the awards & ate the lunch and one guy from Housekeeping felt the need to stand up and make a speech about how we're all members of the same team.

For a while we had a recognition program where you wrote up a coworker for a moment of excellence, and he or she got a certificate that could be used like cash at the company cafeteria or gift shop. Then one day the head of HR discovered that the same people were writing each other up every month and making out like bandits. End of program.

So now our new management group has frequent and meaningless and sometimes outright embarrassing moments of recognition. Some of my coworkers who are singled out are goofballs who are just good at looking like they work. Getting an award at the same ceremony with some of them is kind of insulting. Management can keep my tiara and beauty pageant ribbon and just make sure I get my check every two weeks.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!