Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:11 p.m. - 2015-12-03
ROSEWOOD
So I started watching "Rosewood" because I have liked Morris Chestnut in other roles, and because I am a sucker for crime/forensics shows...all the limbs on the tree that started with "CSI."

But after several viewings I have to conclude that "Rosewood" is not going to be one of my favorite new shows, not in my top 10, my top 20...not.

The all too common attempt to set up a Will they or won't they tension about the male and female leads just doesn't work in this show; I don't feel any special chemistry between Rosewood and Detective Villa, even though the writers go out of their way to try to establish one. Rosewood's mother is meddlesome without being likable, the impending breakup between her and Rosewood's physician father unfathomable. As far as chemistry goes, I don't really feel it between the lesbian couple either (Rosewood's sister Tara and her fiancé Pippy.) And while we're on the subject, could this show be working any harder to be a model of TV diversity? Leave no ethnic/gender box unchecked, guys!

I also have a little trouble accepting the hero as someone doomed because of assorted medical problems when he's an obvious hunk who works out all the time. When was the last time you were blown away on your jogging route by a terminal heart patient?

And if you haven't guessed already, this is one more show where the complicated back story too often interferes with or even takes over from the crime solving. Don't kid yourselves that soap operas have disappeared from the TV landscape: They've just changed their names and moved to prime time.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!